Michigan Sports Hall of Fame 2024 class includes Jim Harbaugh, Ivan Rodriguez, Cecil Fielder

Jim Harbaugh has been selected for induction into the Michigan Sports Hall of Fame. The Los Angeles Chargers coach, celebrated for his illustrious career at Michigan, where he secured a national championship four decades after starring as the Wolverines’ quarterback, will be honored on October 17 at the Sound Board Theater in Detroit.

Joining Harbaugh in the 2024 class are fellow Michigan football legends Braylon Edwards, Jake Long, and Larry Foote, as well as Michigan State basketball’s all-time leading scorer, Shawn Respert.

Former Detroit Tigers Ivan Rodriguez and Cecil Fielder, Detroit Shock star Deanna Nolan, and three-time Vezina Trophy winner Tony Esposito, who was a goaltender at Michigan State, are also set to be inducted.

Edmonton Oilers general manager Ken Holland, a four-time Stanley Cup-winning executive with the Red Wings, will be inducted as a contributor.

Additionally, the late Earl Cureton, a former Pistons player and Detroit Mercy standout, will be honored as a Michigan Treasure. The late Don Shane, who served as sports director at WXYZ-TV for over two decades, will be inducted into the Michigan Sports Hall of Fame’s media category.

Back to top button